art archiving

As most know by now, I try to be organized in areas of my life that I deem some control over. Those areas do not include my sleeping habits, movie viewing habits, television viewing habits, going anywhere I want to go habits, etc. But one area I can control is organization of my children’s artwork. I don’t keep everything, okay, I do. But I go through it all at the end of the year and save my most favorites. Up until this point I have an art file box from Exposures for each child for each year. You can imagine, that’s a lot of humongous art file size boxes, and we’re only going into the first grade and pre-k respectively. So I needed a different solution.

Thus came my most wonderful find of the entire summer! If you live in the westside then you have to take advantage of a new store called Scribble Press in the Westside Pavilion. They are a studio set up and also have classes and workshops for children to create and write their own books. They also do custom books, which is what I had made for the kids. Gunnar got 2 books, one for his preschool years and one for kindergarten. Sawyer got a Volume 1 of preschool made and this year we will create his Volume 2 when he graduates. I picked 10-12 pieces of art for each year, doesn’t matter the size, how great or how crappy the art may be. It’s my kids’ and I LOOOOVEEEEE it. I have their art throughout my house, but I needed a way to catalog their creations and I think it will be cool to let the kids look back and their scribbles and see what emerges. 

Already, it’s hilarious to look at Gunnar’s creations at 3 years old versus Sawyer’s. Gunnar’s name is nowhere to be found on any of his art except where his preschool teacher wrote it, and most looks like he did it as quick as possible so he could be excused to go play outside. Sawyer’s on the other hand has his name on most pieces and the time he took on each and every page makes me smile. Here’s what the book covers look like and some pages of what is inside. 

One thought on “art archiving

  1. Hello!!! Just had a moment to check out the “Harju Life” If you want to harness the kids inner artist-start Sawyer & Gunnar on drawing shapes Cubes, Spheres, Elipsces, Cones these are the building blocks or art -like language start em early
    -jcx

Leave a Reply

