just a book.

It’s been over a week since I’ve finished reading The Kite Runner, and no book has had such an effect on me. I have to admit I was really strong throughout the whole book, never cried, and then lost it the last few chapters. I cried for 4 days after reading that novel and still think about it. 

I’m not sure what it was exactly that was so powerful for me. The writing. The characters. I mentally understand that it was not a true story, but I cannot help feeling that it IS a true story. That somewhere this is someone’s story. Their life. And that this is going on right now, someplace else. 

One night over dinner my mom and I were discussing the book. She couldn’t get through it and we were talking about why. Sawyer read the title of the book and figured it had to do with kites. I explained to him that it was about kites, but more importantly about 2 boys. He would not stop asking questions about it. Why was one boy so nice and the other not? Why wasn’t he brave? What happened? Tell me tell me. 

I told him I figured it would be on his high school reading list by the time he gets there. And once he’s read it we can discuss it then. Still, my eyes well up with tears when I think about Hassan. It infuriates me so much the injustices people endure. But at the same time it gives me comfort to know this won’t go on forever. 

My reading list is getting longer and longer it seems. I recently created a wish list on Amazon to keep track of the books I would like to read and I was a little overwhelmed with all the books I would really like to devour. In time. I guess there is no real rush. I can’t remember the book name I am going to start next, it’s sitting on my nightstand. Patiently waiting for me. I vaguely remember it having to do with a murder and forgiveness, and the Mormon faith. Can’t remember now. Too late. Must sleep. Will share later.

Leave a Reply

