something really exciting

Okay, this week is a very exciting week of posts. Which do I start with first!? Well, THE MOST exciting thing is that Ms. Grets is wearing princess panties. She is a poopin and peein fool. That girl is doing awesome! I am so proud of her. 

Of course I could go into great detail about how different boys and girls are in every aspect, but the most significant difference has been in potty training. With my boys, it truly was potty “training”. I was the trainer they were the trainee. They literally had no clue how their body worked and where that pee came from and when it was coming. It was potty bootcamp for about 4-5 days with each of them, and by the end of the 2nd day they actually learned the concept that they got a “feeling” right before they were going to pee. However, this “feeling” was only about a 15-20 second window to get to a toilet, pants down, and aim. But they had it down after a few days and me shoving sippy cups in their face along with salty foods. The key with the boys was getting them to pee every 10-15 minutes so that they had a lot of practice.

With Greta, totally different story. We had spent 5 consecutive days with her little friend Alissa, who happens to be 3 months older than Greta and fully potty trained. So Greta was used to going to the bathroom with her and watching her pee and washing hands, many times a day. It was a good introduction to Greta, and definitely an inspiration. A few weeks ago I had informed her that we were on our last pack of diapers and we weren’t going to buy any more. I showed her all the panties in her drawer and she seemed to think it was exciting. Well Wednesday we used our last diaper. She woke up from her nap around 2:30 and I told her she would wear panties. I was a little paranoid because she had ballet class that day and I didn’t want her to pee in her ballet outfit and be embarassed and once I put her in panties I didn’t know how easy it would be to put her in a pullup. She went 2 hours staying dry and then she insisted on keeping the panties on for class. I thought either I’m very brave or very stupid. 

Of course, 5 minutes into the drive, she has to pee. I told her to try her best to hold it in, and sure enough we run into ballet class, sit on the toilet, and she pees. Amazing! She went to ballet class, came out still dry. Went home. Dry. Get this, she even told me WHEN she had to pee. This is still day 1. 

That night my lovely husband was going to watch her for an hour. And as much as I warned and threatened HIM that she had done so well all day, please remind her and take her to the toilet, she had her first accident. But I can’t tell you how cute she was about it. When I saw her she told me how she didn’t mean to do it, she was so disappointed, I told her that she was doing so wonderful, and not to worry about. In fact, Sawyer explained to her that he had accidents much older than she was now, so not to worry.

The next morning I was a little concerned since she hadn’t pooped Wednesday. And this was our second accident. However, she was mortified at what her panties looked like, and that was the last time she did that in her panties. She hasn’t had an accident since. So after 2 accidents total, she is a little girl. Fully trained. And I am amazed that she already knows how to hold it, she is so proud of herself. I am in shock that I no longer have a child in diapers. I have been changing diapers for over 7 consecutive years. Yes, 87 straight months of diaper changing. That’s a whole big landfill of diapers with our name on it. Fortunately by the time I had Greta they had more environmentally friendly diapers, but still, we did our damage to the planet. Sorry Earth.

Today I went to Target and out of habit turned down the diaper aisle. I couldn’t believe that I wasn’t purchasing diapers. It feels very good. Extremely liberating. Way to go Grets!

I know I promised to post before and afters of this month’s house project, and I just didn’t have the time. I will post it this week, promise.

Leave a Reply

