book post

Been awhile since our last book post. And it’s not that we haven’t been reading over here, but it’s just slipped my mind with everything going on. Gunnar has been crazy obsessed with reading books from MY childhood. He is just loving it. And as he talks about it, all the memories come flooding back to me.

He reads in class when he finishes his work early. The first week of school he managed to start and complete Jack London’s Call of the Wild. It says it’s for grades 5 and up, but I think that’s a little skewed. I remember being younger when I first read this book. His second week of school he read and loved The Swiss Family Robinson. You remember that one right? The family traveling by sea, caught in a storm? Remember? And when he’s at home, he’s been enjoying Gary Paulsen’s Hatchet.

I still like to read to the kids most nights. And since they loved Roald Dahl’s The BFG so much, we stayed with him again and just finished Danny the Champion of the World. We started The Enormous Egg last night which Sawyer picked over the summer when he participated in Barnes & Noble’s Summer Reading Program. Sawyer is a bit obsessed with The Horrible Harry series. He’s so thrilled to be in chapter books, but I still sit with him to make sure he’s pronouncing everything right.

I swear, between homework and just reading with the kids and them reading on their own, I feel like there is no time in the day. Some days, shhhh, I don’t make them read at all. I let them vegetate in front of the television and decompress for the day. Other days we just run outside, especially now that fall is here. It actually dipped below 80 degrees this week! Hooray for fall.

For me, I don’t know if I have written for awhile about what I have read recently. I will start and work backwards. Jane and I did a book trade and I just finished The Known World. It was very good, but I took too long to read it so I got confused because there’s a lot of switching back and forth through time and lots of characters. Before that I loved Unaccustomed Earth, just wonderful, I just wish that they weren’t short stories because I fell inlove with the characters and wanted to know more about what happens in their lives. And before that one I read Bel Canto, really good. Took awhile for me to get into it, but fascinating once I did. I have a new little stack of books on my bookshelf I would like to dip into courtesy from a generous mom who loves to read from the boys’ school.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “book post

  1. I remember many of these titles – Hatchet was one of my son’s favorites. Although he as old enough to read it on his own, it is one we read together out loud. Chapter to chapter, until it was complete.We were hooked on Gary Paulsen from then on. Great
    middle school reading.

Leave a Reply

