SEW SEW

I have to be honest here. I don’t even know how to sew a button onto something. I never learned. No one ever showed me. And I never asked. But fortunately Aaron has been sewing on our buttons for almost 10 years now. I have been thinking about getting a sewing machine for months, but it’s kind of intimidating. Don’t ask me why I wouldn’t FIRST want to figure out how to sew the button on. But sometimes I like to just jump in with both feet.

Well, I went to Overstock.com in November and started researching the sewing machines they had for sale. This particular one had awesome reviews, and the Brother brand has been around for ages. So, Aaron and I decided to take the plunge. I say Aaron and I, because he was the one who had to teach me to use the machine. He took Home Ec in high school and his mom had a sewing machine so he was pretty comfortable with it.

Here she is:

I learned how to thread the bobbin and experimented with all the stitches. Here’s my first sewing project.

But seriously, how many dinosaur and doll pillows can a girl make?

So the whole family made a trip to the fabric store and Greta picked out her most favorite pattern and I went to work on a skirt for her. I didn’t have the best timing and started the project on a Thursday afternoon. I had about an hour to complete it and I had never seen a pattern before. I tried to figure out how to use it but in the end my fabric was supposed to be stretchy, but it wasn’t. And I wanted to use an elastic waist, which the pattern didn’t have. So I just winged it and decided to free hand. I didn’t think it would actually fit or stay together. But she has worn it three times already and it’s still in one piece. There’s a waistband in the front, and elastic in the back. It’s a cute little straight skirt and Greta is inlove.

The kids were all surrounding the machine as I was sewing it together and they were the best little cheerleaders. When I would make a mistake, which was VERY often, I would hear, “that’s okay mama! it looks great” or “that’s alright, I like it like that”, or “mama, don’t worry, it doesn’t have to be straight”. They were pretty sweet and encouraging. And in the end, Greta got a new little skirt out of the whole thing.

If anyone has some great sites for fabric, please let me know. This is a whole new world for me.

One thought on “SEW SEW

  1. Well done you! To look at that lovely skirt you’d never say it was your first attempt at dressmaking! Greta is going to love having a mum who can make clothes for her.

    Keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

