work

First, I have to mention that I have worked at the same spa in Brentwood for 8 years. 8 years. As you can see, further evidence I hate change. I have been an esthetician for 10 years and I truly love what I do. It’s a totally different kind of joy when I work on people as an esthetician than when I photograph. Photography is definitely fun and creative, but I know skin. It’s a comfort and ease when I do facials or wax because I do it well. On the other hand, I still get butterflies when I drive out to a photo shoot. No butterflies when I have my esthetician hat on. Being an esthetician fulfills the clinical side for me, it fulfills the chemical reactions and allergies and ingredient lists that I love to analyze. Photography fulfills my creative desires. But when I am asked what I do for work, esthetician comes out immediately. Photography? I still view that as my hobby and it will probably always remain a hobby. I can’t see ever giving up being an esthetician to pursue photography full time.

With the economy’s downturn the spa hasn’t been doing that well, and rumors have swirled for over a year that they would close. I won’t go into details about my boss, but honesty isn’t a strong characteristic, and he’s closed down past salons without giving employees a day of notice. They showed up for work one morning to a locked door. I decided it was time I research what it would take to start my own business and become licensed as a business owner.

I learned many things about our city and government. For reals, the left hand doesn’t know what the right is doing. I am super anal about doing things “by the book” and I like to have all my ducks in a row. Wow, could I have put any more metaphors into that sentence? Anyways, I went from zoning, to business, to city, to county, to state. Finally, my ducks were all in a neat and tidy row. And my husband provided the swift kick in the rear needed to finally cut the cord.

So I present to you, Skin by Deborah. Yes, I only had 30 seconds to come up with a business name because I wasn’t prepared to actually name the business at the little clear window with the city worker tapping her acrylic nails waiting for me to decide. When I came home with my paperwork my husband did point out it kinda sorta sounds like a strip club name, but oh well. What’s done is done.

I am now solely self-employed between Skin by Deborah and Deborah Justine Photography. It feels fantastic. Somehow I wish I didn’t have 3 separate websites to keep up to date, but anyone who knows me, knows I like to stay busy. Busy it is. And busy hopefully it will stay. I work a lot of nights now which actually works great since I can tuck the kids into bed and then go do my thing. Since Greta is in school 4 mornings a week, I have freedom to schedule clients around those days as well. I feel so much better able to service my clients when it’s convenient for them. I hated having some clients rush over on their lunch hour to fit in a facial only to rush back to work. Now they can show up in their sweats and flip flops for a facial and then head home to take a nap or watch a movie.

I have put my new website into my blogroll and I feature specials every few months that I will post about on here as well.

This is a new chapter for me and a very exciting one. I feel like the timing was perfect, my confidence and certainty that this is the right move for me and my family was overwhelming. So, here we go 2010. Somehow I don’t think 2009 can be topped, but I’m about to try. . .

2 thoughts on “work

Leave a Reply

