Summertime Pops

Popsicle making and eating has been at an all time high with the heat Southern California has been finally experiencing the last few weeks. The last 2 weeks I have been so jealous of my kids’ swim lessons, it’s taking some major self control to not jump in the pool alongside them each afternoon. I’ll be back sometime next week once I recover from our annual camping trip this weekend. Cross your fingers for me, I wasn’t raised camping, but am a post-married camper. I enjoy it but I wouldn’t say I get much sleep while camping.

This picture was taken a few weeks back. The girls enjoyed yogurt, strawberry, and a little milk popsicles.

And this next popsicle you can freeze in layers. The first (top) layer is just plain apple juice. I froze it for about an hour and then made the next layer, watermelon, strawberry slushie and then poured that in and refroze. BIG hit!

I have yet to try this, but it’s a great idea I read about. After you pour apple juice or a semi clear liquid in the first layer you can stick a whole berry, blueberry/raspberry, and push it down into the base. And when you, er your kid, goes to eat the pop, there’s a nice frozen berry at the top!

Happy popsicle eating!

Leave a Reply

