wall street journal

Not sure if any of you have read this article yet, Why Chinese Mothers are Superior?, from the Wall Street Journal. If not, read it. It was so interesting and yet at the same time shocking. Next time one of my friends, or family members, or even kids call me strict or mean, I think I’ll read this to them.

After reading the article, I also read a few articles that had commentary on it. All were so interesting. Highly recommend googling articles that have stemmed from this one.

I think personally it’s a balancing act I have to constantly struggle with. I would really love to raise children to become successful adults, yet, I want them to be successful at things they love to do. I want to expose my children to many things, yet I never want them to give up when they think they can’t accomplish something or think something is hard. I want my children to love the arts, and yet I want them to be well read and have a passion for math. It’s always a difficult path that parents have. We want to do what’s best for our kids, yet most of us are clueless as to what that may be. We try. No doubt we try. But no doubt this mom who wrote this article was quite convinced she was doing what was best for her children, and that is a best I would like to not imitate.

Nonetheless, it’s an interesting article and I think it’s worth discussing. Happy weekend everyone!

 

3 thoughts on “wall street journal

  1. I guess it’s the same with any Asian parent. I’m Filipino. My parents and all our relatives have only law and medicine and engineering as courses we young ones have to take up…. courses like journalism and business, and the like are not in their radar.

  2. It was a disturbing article on many levels. I cringed throughout and was reminded that in most cultures children are losing their childhoods at a very sad rate. Parents can be very selfish, imposing their own ideas of what it is to be a successful adult, often raising their kids to simply be cogs in a broken machine. The beauty of life on this planet and what it is to be a happy human being is lost. It’s tragic.

  3. read this article earlier this week…so much to say! also the follow up interview: http://blogs.wsj.com/ideas-market/2011/01/13/the-tiger-mother-responds-to-readers/?mod=WSJ_article_related

    disagree: practicing piano with no bathroom/food – definitely cruel and borderline abusive. no playdates – socialization is key in developing character. nurture can bulldoze over nature – some children are not born to be superstars and should not be made to feel inadequate for it. assume strength, not fragility – assume nothing!

    mixed: children owe their parents everything – no, but the reality is that there is a different parent/child dynamic between immigrant parents and their children and parents who have children and raise them in the same environment they grew up in. i do feel i owe my parents the world for their sacrifices. this is out of respect, love, and an understanding of everything they gave up for me, not guilt imposed by them.

    agree: no sleepovers – i don’t trust other parents the way i do myself. learning is not always fun, nor is it supposed to be – children should do what is required before they do what they want. most people raised this way are not unhappy as adults – most are successful and happy and think their childhoods were unique but happy. parents know best – respond to your children but do not be directed by them.

Leave a Reply

