My Garden Update

I don’t post often about the garden, but I assure you, it’s well cared for. I am currently having a battle with my neighbors cat over digging rights. Other than that, it’s doing really really well. I’ll take you on a little photo tour of what it looks like at the moment. I thought I had photographed the raised beds, but apparently it was in my dream. So here are all the plants other than in the gardening beds. Our one bed that was full of spinach is now totally different. The spinach flowered and I hope they were reseed themselves, but in the meantime the entire bed now is covered in plants that came from my compost soil. Seeds that were in the compost have turned into plants. The bed is covered in cucumbers, tomatoes, and some other yet to be determined plants. It’s amazing to see tomato plants flowering where I didn’t plant tomatoes. And I have never bought a cucumber seed/plant, but I have two blooming at the moment. I’ll have to take those photos soon to share.

Here’s a new Meyer Lemon Dwarf tree that I recently added to the backyard. The buds on it are amazing, and I cannot wait to enjoy the lemons in our nightly tea.

Remember my little tiny tomato plants? Well, they aren’t small anymore! This is a current photo of the tomatoes and I don’t think they have slowed down, we did lose one tomato plant to a virus of some kind, but thankfully it hasn’t affected the others. I’m going to have to put a wire up around the boys window to give it somewhere to grow. The lemon balm, geraniums and marigolds are doing phenomenally well at keeping aphids and other pests away. Haven’t seen a single one yet. Our purchase of lady bugs every few months have helped too.

The onions and chives are doing amazing. I can’t use all the chives we have and I cannot wait til my onions are ready for harvesting.

I’m quite proud of these scallions because they were planted from seeds.

I really really really wanted a succulent planter but all the fancy schmancy professional done ones were expensive so I tried my hand at planting it by myself. Success!

You want another angle of it right?

These baby carrots also were planted from seeds, I have yet to be a successful carrot gardener, so this may be a first.

And my pride and joy, the tomatoes. Here are some cherry tomatoes.

And an heirloom. Can. Not. Wait.

6 thoughts on “My Garden Update

  1. Last year, my mother and I planted all kinds of veggies. …. tomatoes, cucumbers, eggplants, squash, peppers. But, no success. All the veggies were small and we barely got any produce. … all that work for a dozen , small tomatoes. In the end , my mother thought it wasn’t worth all the effort. In summer, all the vegetables are very cheap anyway. And I guess, we didn’t plant them well. this year, we decided to plant flowering plants in the garden beds. we now have a pretty ” instant” flower garden, courtesy of Home Depot.

  2. Very inspiring! There’s nothing like the taste of homegrown. And so good for the little ones to be involved and see where food comes from. The cost & savings will improve as the soil builds and through trial and error- but in the end it’s really about the joy & satisfaction. No shopping cart can compete!
    Cool succulent pot too…

  3. Hey any advice for the tomatoes? I have cherry and heirloom. The cherries leaves are very yellow and the tomatoes that are there are not turning red at all. They’ve been rather green/yellow for a while now. The leaves of my heirloom’s are purple! Any help would be great!

  4. Thanks everyone!
    Lillian- Are your tomatoes in a pot? If so, they may need fertilizer/food. Ours are in the ground this year since last year they didn’t do well in the pot. For me the yellow leaves could mean either under/over watering, I know not very helpful. But check around for some tomato food, they are little pellets and see if that may help. If they are in the ground, did you use compost/manure mix when you mixed the soil? This is all new for me, and I feel like this year is total trial and error, so I’m not super helpful. But when I have a question I search gardening forums online and find really good suggestions. That’s how I found out one of my plants had a virus and I had to pull it up.

    • Thanks for the tips. Mine are in the ground. I just got the soil that the nice person in the gardening section at Home Depot told me to get. I water them once a day so I think they’re getting enough water. My mom mentioned that I might need some fertilizer. I’m gonna check for some fertilizer or plant food that’s organic though. She knows a lot about gardening. Hopefully that’ll work. Thanks for your help!

Leave a Reply

