sunday edition

We are so happy all of our east coast friends and family are fine and the hurricane didn’t meet expectations. Over here it’s been hot, hot hot. We spent the weekend doing a whole lot of work. Not work work, well, except Aaron worked all Friday evening. But actual unpaid work for the most part. We got a whole lot of house projects completed. Although I wish I could report that the inside of my home had the same attention as the outside, but that didn’t quite happen.

Aaron worked on Saturday at the renovation of our local Kingdom Hall. He always ends up with the really hard manual labor work. But secretly he loves it. I think he will be quite sad as soon as he is too old to handle the jack hammer. All I had to do was bake for the crew’s breakfast. Easy peasy. The kids and I spent the day working outside. They took turns helping me paint the adirondack chairs that seem like the never ending project. But alas, I finished the last chair today. They played outside almost the entire day, and then after lunch I decided to blow up several dozen water balloons to cool them off. That turned into a water squirter fight as soon as the balloons were used up, which then turned into a water bowl throwing fight as soon as the squirters broke, which then just turned into hosing each other down.

I did manage to sneak off to see Crazy Stupid Love, which was great. I am a huge Ryan Gosling fan, and that guy can really play any character. Sunday we took a family field trip to Home Depot. Does everyone get as excited as I get when they go there? The possibilities are endless! We picked up the supplies to finish our outdoor lounge/firepit area. And I’m thrilled to report it’s complete. We spent the afternoon on that project, with me painting the final chair while Aaron did the fire pit while the kids created elaborate train systems on the ground around us. This evening Aaron and I are off to a dinner for The City School. We have our final week of summer this week and I’m cringing just thinking of sending them all back. We are going to make the most out of the time left. Pictures to follow some time later this week. And I promise to post photos of a very very cute Alice in Wonderland Tea Party Ms. Greta had.

 

Leave a Reply

