Mammoth in Instagrams

We returned this weekend from our annual trek to Mammoth for skiing and snowboarding. This is our 4th year traveling with the same family and by now we have the system down pat. We divide up the meals, the kids get along perfectly. In fact, I don’t recall a single argument amongst the children. I do recall me yelling at my own children several times to stop getting too distracted and eat their food, or get dressed, or go take a shower. But when they are having that much fun it kind of falls to the wayside. We stayed in a different condo this year, but it worked out great, a little older, but an extra bedroom, all in all, success! I was so proud of my kids this trip. After day 1 of all day lessons, Sawyer requested he be put back in class the following day, for another full day. By the end of the second day his teacher had taken him on a chair lift and he had minimal falls. According to Sawyer he was the best in his class. Yay for my newly minted snowboarder! Greta tears up the mountain, a little too fast for my taste, and Gunnar is right there beside us. The kids all know that at least for the first day they will be in classes, then they know the second day they can choose class or being with us. It’s an exhausting trip though to say the least. Each night the adults all wonder how they will make it from the couch to their beds. And by the second night, forget it, advil is passed around to all. The kids crash between 7-7:30 each night after being on the lifts. We eat, we ski, we eat, we sleep. With a little crafting in between for the kids, and puzzles and games. If you can believe, I only took about a dozen photos with my big camera. It stayed pretty much in it’s bag all week. But I did take a bunch with my iPhone and another point and shoot that Aaron was in charge of. So I have video and some more photos to load as well. I’ll put a little video together as well to keep with my one video/vacation goal. But here’s my Instagrams from the vacation.

1.packed and ready to road trip it outta here 2. open road 3. driver 4. our kids are definitely getting older, we managed to drive 3 straight hours before our first pit stop in lone pine for subway 5. getting our rentals 6. checking out the mountain 7. hot chocolate in the lodge 8. dressing chaos, getting 5 kids dressed for lessons, fed, and out the door by 8:30am is a feat 9. first run of the day 10. oh crap 11. yep, the aftermath 12. my little hard core skier 13. crafting time while dinner is made 14. how greta likes to take a break, and my cute boarders 15. hams 16. adult time 17. time for the road again

Leave a Reply

